Orpheus is a British atmospheric and progressive rock band based in Bournemouth, England. It was founded in 2008 by James Young and Thomas Vallely, already established on Abridged Pause Recordings’ roster with his other project Omega Centauri. Matt Morum has recently joined the band.

Orpheus originally self-released its debut album “Philosopher of the Sublime”, digitally in July of 2009; but it was picked up and re-issued on compact disc through Paradigms Recordings, and made available to the public in May of 2010. The band’s sophomore release, “The Mind’s Exotica” EP, followed a similar route: it was self-released digitally by the band in February of 2011 and will be physically re-issued through Abridged Pause Recordings in early 2012.